top of page

Clothes & Accessories

Alright. We're well into the Spring Cleaning season. We moved 1 year ago, so I've done a ton of cleaning out pre and post-move, but annual updates are needed.

When I buy something new, I'm trying to get rid of something that it's replacing.

1 bag to Savers = 1 bag of shopping

I'm going try to donate my old dresses to my high school (they use to do the Princess Project) for Prom.

Don't want to get old/ used clothes?

Poshmark is a great site to sell what you don't wear, and buy used at great prices.

I've had a great experience, and would use it again.

The fashion industry is a huge contributor to waste. There's the scrap fabric from patterns, constant manufacturing of new styles, polyester and synthetic fabrics breaking down and seeping microfibers into the water system (through the laundry), and not to mention the questionable labor practices. Who made your t-shirt?

I'm not a great thrift store shopper (other than mason jars at Savers). Besides second hand stores, here's some brands who offer sustainable clothing.

​

If you don't know about this program, CHECK IT OUT! Patagonia will take back any of their clothing or accessories, repair them, and re-sell them at a discount.  They're also a very socially responsible company, and make a lot of their new clothing out of recycled and organic materials.

Similar to worn wear, the goal is to keep clothing and fabric out of landfills. Most Columbia stores have a bin where you can drop off used Columbia clothing, shoes and accessories.

Leggings, sports bras, shorts, and tees made from 100% recycled water bottles and eco-friendly dye, in Hanoi, Vietnam. Each pair of leggings is made with 25 recycled water bottles. They value transparency, pay their workers fair wages, and make a great product.

Their production facility is SA8000 certified, which guarantees "no forced or child labor, safe working conditions, and the right to unionize", they "start pay at 125% of the local minimum wage, provide both free catered breakfast and lunch instead of just a lunchroom, and guided exercise breaks, because no one likes to stare at a desk all day", and "provide free monthly health check ups at the factory for every employee".

I love that their models are women of all races and body types too.

I bought their classic black leggings before they launched, and I'm loving them! I'm 5' 8", 135 lbs, and wear a Medium.

More leggings made out of recycled water bottles, but these have cool patterns, and they support marine research. I just bought the whale shark leggings in Medium. I'll let you know how they are.

Repreve fabric is used in many other brands (ie: Prana, Quicksilver, Patagonia...), made from recycled water bottles. You can check out the brands directly from their site.

Another legging & yoga company based around recycled water bottles (with super cool patterns). I haven't bought from them, but they seem like another great company.

I'll keep updating this list as I find more companies using recycled and organic materials, and supporting fair labor practices.

bottom of page